Trial and primary paperRECOVERY dexamethasoneDexamethasone in hospitalised COVID-19NEJM Paper ↗ (opens in a new tab)RECOVERY Collaborative Group. Dexamethasone in hospitalized patients with Covid-19. N Engl J Med. 2021;384(8):693-704. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2021436.
Main findingDexamethasone reduced 28-day mortality in patients receiving oxygen or invasive ventilation.
UK involvementUK only
Read More: Why RECOVERY dexamethasone Matters
Clinical, economic, funding and wider impact
Clinical Impact
28 fewer 28-day deaths per 1,000 overall and 121 fewer per 1,000 among patients already ventilated; no indication without respiratory support.
Large UK platform RCT with high confidence for the 2020 population; present-day absolute benefit is uncertain as variants, immunity and background care have changed.
Economic and Resource Impact
A maximum oral course costs about £2; the published model estimated £31.66 incremental cost, 0.025 QALY gained and an ICER of £1,247/QALY per patient.
Published model: £31.66 incremental cost, 0.025 QALY and £476 net monetary benefit per patient at £20,000/QALY. Calculated: about £2,010 for 1,000 maximum oral courses; the economic model scales to £31,660 incremental cost, 25 QALYs and £476,000 net monetary benefit per 1,000. Cash or bed-capacity savings are not available from mean patient-level bed-days. Not available for current forecasting. A published historical NHS model estimated about 22,000 UK lives saved from July 2020 to March 2021; this was modelled rather than trial-observed. A historical scenario may apply 0.121 to ventilated and 0.029 to oxygen-only eligible patients, with intervals and current-era caveats.
- Drug acquisition — Calculated: A maximum oral course uses 30 × 2-mg tablets and costs about £2.01 using the current tariff proxy of £3.35 per 50-tablet pack. The published economic input was £0.23/day or £2.30/course in 2020 prices. IV preparation is needed only when enteral dosing is unsuitable.
- Cost-effectiveness — Published economic analysis: Incremental cost £31.66 and gain 0.025 QALY per patient; ICER £1,247/QALY and incremental net monetary benefit £476/patient at £20,000/QALY. This is health value, not a cash-releasing saving.
- Workforce and capacity — Observed: No capital equipment and minimal oral administration burden. Hospital stay medians were 12 versus 13 days, but patient-level mean bed-days were not reported, so the median must not be multiplied into a capacity saving.
Funder Impact
- Public investment
- £2.1 million initial award plus £19 million additional funding — UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) and National Institute for Health Research (NIHR), with later Wellcome and other shared platform support; award MC_PC_19056; Wellcome 222406/Z/20/Z.
- Funding scope
- Verified shared platform funding; no dexamethasone-comparison or marginal arm budget has been published. Nominal public awards made in 2020 for the whole RECOVERY platform The award value is not assumed to equal the marginal cost of this comparison.
- What the investment delivered
- The comparison randomised 6,425 patients and established a very low-cost treatment with a mortality benefit in patients requiring oxygen or ventilation. Historical UKRI modelling attributed about 22,000 UK and one million global lives saved to uptake by early 2021, but those are modelled estimates; the £21.1 million was platform-wide and must not be presented as a dexamethasone-specific return.
Trial Results
| Evidence basis | Outcome | Trial result | Absolute effect per 1,000 eligible patients |
|---|
| Observed | 28-day mortality: all participants | 482/2,104 (22.9%) versus 1,110/4,321 (25.7%); age-adjusted rate ratio 0.83 (95% CI 0.75 to 0.93) | Calculated unadjusted effect: 28 fewer deaths per 1,000 (Newcombe 95% CI about 5 to 50 fewer) | | Observed | 28-day mortality: receiving invasive ventilation at randomisation | 95/324 (29.3%) versus 283/683 (41.4%); rate ratio 0.64 (95% CI 0.51 to 0.81) | Calculated: 121 fewer deaths per 1,000 (about 58 to 181 fewer) | | Observed | 28-day mortality: oxygen without invasive ventilation | 298/1,279 (23.3%) versus 682/2,604 (26.2%); rate ratio 0.82 (95% CI 0.72 to 0.94) | Calculated: 29 fewer deaths per 1,000 (approximately no difference to 57 fewer) | | Observed | 28-day mortality: no respiratory support | 89/501 (17.8%) versus 145/1,034 (14.0%); rate ratio 1.19 (95% CI 0.91 to 1.55) | Calculated: 37 more deaths per 1,000 (about 1 fewer to 78 more); routine treatment is not indicated | | Calculated | Discharge and organ support | 37 more discharges alive by day 28, 20 fewer new invasive-ventilation events and 31 fewer RRT episodes per 1,000; 101 more successful ventilator cessations per 1,000 initially ventilated patients | Intervals: 12 to 62 more discharges, 5 to 34 fewer ventilations, 19 to 43 fewer RRT episodes and 36 to 167 more ventilator cessations | | Observed | Treatment-related serious events | Four events were reported: two hyperglycaemia, one psychosis and one upper gastrointestinal bleed; all resolved | Comparative absolute risk was not available |
Wider Impact
Rapid incorporation into national and international guidance demonstrated the value of a simple, embedded platform during an emergency. Dexamethasone is generic, orally available, heat-stable and requires no capital equipment, supporting equitable deployment and preserving a low-burden pandemic-treatment pathway; eligibility safeguards remain important because benefit was not shown without an oxygen requirement.
Implementation Considerations
Use an automated eligibility prompt linked to oxygen or hypoxia, with a hard stop when no oxygen is required. Use oral dosing first, stop at discharge, and monitor glucose, infection, gastrointestinal bleeding and mental-state complications. Retain prescribing and stock pathways as pandemic-preparedness infrastructure.
Limitations and Uncertainty
Open-label trial and subgroup absolute-effect intervals. Current-era indirectness because baseline risk, immunity, variants and background treatments have changed. The economic model used 2020 prices and structural long-COVID assumptions; median stay is not mean bed-days.
|
Trial and primary paperRECOVERY tocilizumabTocilizumab in hospitalised COVID-19Lancet Paper ↗ (opens in a new tab)RECOVERY Collaborative Group. Tocilizumab in patients admitted to hospital with COVID-19 (RECOVERY): a randomised, controlled, open-label, platform trial. Lancet. 2021;397(10285):1637-1645. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(21)00676-0.
Main findingTocilizumab improved survival in hypoxic patients with systemic inflammation.
UK involvementUK only
CCR critiqueNot available
CCR meeting or event materialNot available
Read More: Why RECOVERY tocilizumab Matters
Clinical, economic, funding and wider impact
Clinical Impact
41 fewer 28-day deaths, 40 fewer new invasive ventilations and 23 fewer RRT episodes per 1,000 in the early-pandemic population.
Strong direct RCT evidence for pre-vaccine, pre-Omicron inflammatory or hypoxic COVID-19; current absolute benefit is uncertain.
Economic and Resource Impact
List-price acquisition is about £991–£1,321 per treated patient with observed repeat dosing; public modelling found an ICER of £4,535/QALY and £7,586 net monetary benefit per patient.
Public HTA model: £2,225 incremental cost, 0.49 QALY and £7,586 net monetary benefit per patient at £20,000/QALY; the actual NHS acquisition price is commercial-in-confidence. CCR-modelled list-price acquisition is about £0.99m–£1.321m for 1,000 patients assuming 1.29 doses of 600–800 mg, excluding discounts, wastage and administration. The public model scales to +£2.225m, +490 QALYs and +£7.586m net monetary benefit. Cash savings are not available without mean ventilation, RRT and bed-day durations and the confidential price. Not defensible from historic trial volume. Contemporary eligible admissions, steroid use, baseline mortality, variants and uptake are required; a historical-effect scenario may use 0.041 deaths, 0.040 ventilations and 0.023 RRT episodes avoided per eligible patient.
- Drug acquisition — Calculated: Tocilizumab is given as 400–800 mg IV over 60 minutes; 29% received a repeat dose. Published BNF list prices accessed in 2022 were £512/400 mg and £256/200 mg. With 1.29 average doses, 600–800 mg costs about £991–£1,321 drug-only per patient before confidential discounts.
- Cost-effectiveness — Published economic analysis: A 2022-price NHS/PSS lifetime model estimated £2,225 incremental cost and 0.49 QALY per patient, pairwise ICER £4,535/QALY and £7,586 net monetary benefit at £20,000/QALY. It was extendedly dominated in the public full comparison, while NICE's confidential-price analysis judged it cost-effective versus standard care.
- Workforce and infrastructure — Observed: Requires pharmacy validation and preparation, an infusion pump and inpatient chair or bed time, one-hour administration, nursing observation, eligibility laboratories, infection screening and governance for a second dose.
Funder Impact
- Public investment
- £2.1 million initial award plus £19 million additional platform funding; Roche supplied enough tocilizumab for 2,000 treated participants, value not reported — UKRI and NIHR, with Wellcome and other shared platform support; Roche supplied study drug in kind; award MC_PC_19056; Wellcome 222406/Z/20/Z.
- Funding scope
- Verified shared platform and in-kind support; neither the marginal comparison cost nor the value of donated medicine is publicly verified. Nominal 2020 RECOVERY platform awards; manufacturer supply described in the paper The award value is not assumed to equal the marginal cost of this comparison.
- What the investment delivered
- The comparison randomised 4,116 patients and produced evidence of lower mortality, more discharge alive and less progression to invasive ventilation or death when tocilizumab was added to usual care, mostly including corticosteroids. It was one output of the shared RECOVERY investment, and the unpriced Roche supply means an arm-level financial return cannot be calculated.
Trial Results
| Evidence basis | Outcome | Trial result | Absolute effect per 1,000 eligible patients |
|---|
| Observed | 28-day mortality | 621/2,022 (30.7%) versus 729/2,094 (34.8%); rate ratio 0.85 (95% CI 0.76 to 0.94) | Calculated unadjusted effect: 41 fewer deaths per 1,000 (Newcombe 95% CI about 12 to 70 fewer) | | Calculated | Discharge alive by day 28 | 70 more discharges alive per 1,000 from published counts | 70 more per 1,000 (about 40 to 101 more) | | Calculated | Invasive ventilation or death among patients not ventilated at baseline | Absolute effect calculated from published counts | 66 fewer events per 1,000 (about 34 to 98 fewer) | | Calculated | New invasive ventilation and renal replacement therapy | 40 fewer new invasive ventilations and 23 fewer RRT episodes per 1,000 | Intervals: 15 to 64 fewer ventilations and 7 to 39 fewer RRT episodes | | Observed | Treatment-related serious reactions | Three reactions: otitis externa, S. aureus bacteraemia and lung abscess; all resolved | Comparative absolute risk was not available |
Wider Impact
The result changed treatment pathways internationally and established an additional immunomodulatory option for severe inflammatory COVID-19. Implementation requires rapid eligibility testing, pharmacy and infusion capacity, infection screening and reliable biologic supply; acquisition cost and access can constrain equity, so biosimilar procurement and stock governance matter.
Implementation Considerations
Identify hypoxia and systemic inflammation promptly; RECOVERY used CRP at least 75 mg/L, alongside corticosteroids. Use infection and tuberculosis exclusions, weight-based dosing, biosimilar or out-of-hours stock and second-dose governance. Monitor infection, blood count, liver function and infusion reactions, and audit treatment timing and organ-support outcomes.
Limitations and Uncertainty
Open-label design and more bias-prone discharge outcomes; 82% received corticosteroids. Current-era indirectness due to changed immunity, variants and standard care. Commercial-in-confidence price and an economic model dependent on early-pandemic mortality, discharge and long-COVID assumptions.
|
Trial and primary paperTTM2Hypothermia versus normothermia after out-of-hospital cardiac arrestNEJM Paper ↗ (opens in a new tab)Dankiewicz J, Cronberg T, Lilja G, et al. Hypothermia versus normothermia after out-of-hospital cardiac arrest. N Engl J Med. 2021;384(24):2283-2294. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2100591.
Main findingTargeted hypothermia at 33°C did not reduce mortality versus fever prevention and caused more arrhythmias.
UK involvementInternational + UK
Read More: Why TTM2 Matters
Clinical, economic, funding and wider impact
Clinical Impact
No survival or functional benefit; 74 more haemodynamically important arrhythmias per 1,000 with routine 33°C.
Large international RCT providing strong evidence against routine 33°C for the enrolled phenotype; selected subgroups remain uncertain.
Economic and Resource Impact
Deimplementation can avoid some cooling consumables, device time, sedation and neuromuscular blockade, but about 46% still required device cooling for fever.
Not available as a trial economic evaluation. The available device prices are historical NICE list or proxy values from 2017. CCR-modelled illustration: about £376,000–£450,000 avoided historical all-in Arctic Sun expenditure if 540 device treatments are avoided, plus a point estimate of 74 haemodynamically important arrhythmias avoided. Do not assume all cooling-device use disappears. Not available. A reliable denominator for comatose TTM2-eligible UK OHCA survivors, current device uptake and procurement prices is required. No UK-attributable trial grant was identified.
- Within-trial economics — Not available: No economic evaluation was reported. Both strategies require core-temperature monitoring and active fever treatment; routine 33°C adds cooling and rewarming protocols, device time, shivering assessment, sedation or analgesia and often neuromuscular blockade.
- Historical device-price proxy — Published economic analysis: NICE MIB112 (2017) estimated Arctic Sun at £697–£833 per treatment, including £556–£738 single-use items; Blanketrol single-use items £129–£347; and Thermogard capital £21,500 plus catheter £318–£638. These are historical proxies, not current NHS procurement prices.
- Potential deimplementation — CCR-modelled: If device cooling fell from 100% to the 46% observed in the normothermia arm, 540 of 1,000 device treatments would be avoided. At historical Arctic Sun all-in estimates this is about £376,000–£450,000 per 1,000; consumables are the immediate cash-releasing element and capital savings arise mainly at replacement.
Funder Impact
- Public investment
- A$4,021,238 total of the four funding amounts listed by ANZICS — Swedish Research Council, Swedish Heart-Lung Foundation, Stig and Ragna Gorthon Foundation, and Knutsson Foundation, with additional unpriced regional and foundation support; award Swedish Research Council 2016-00428.
- Funding scope
- Verified listed funding, but not a complete trial-cost account; further support was acknowledged without amounts. AUD equivalents displayed by ANZICS; conversion date and basis are not stated The award value is not assumed to equal the marginal cost of this comparison.
- What the investment delivered
- In 1,900 participants, TTM2 showed no survival or functional advantage from routine cooling to 33°C over protocolised normothermia with fever treatment, while haemodynamically important arrhythmias increased. This provides high-value deimplementation evidence, although no formal economic evaluation was done and about 46% of the normothermia group still required a cooling device.
Trial Results
| Evidence basis | Outcome | Trial result | Absolute effect per 1,000 eligible patients |
|---|
| Calculated | Six-month mortality | 465/925 versus 446/925 deaths; published RR 1.04 (95% CI 0.94 to 1.14) | 21 more deaths per 1,000 with 33°C; applying the RR interval to control risk gives 29 fewer to 68 more | | Observed | Moderately severe disability or worse at six months | 55% versus 55%; RR 1.00 (95% CI 0.92 to 1.09) | Approximately 0 per 1,000; compatible with roughly 44 fewer to 50 more | | Observed | Haemodynamically compromising arrhythmia | 222/927 (24.0%) versus 152/921 (16.5%); RR 1.45 (95% CI 1.21 to 1.75) | Calculated: 74 more per 1,000 with 33°C (about 35 to 124 more) | | Observed | Resource signals | ICU-discharge medians 4.9 versus 4.8 days; hospital-discharge medians 9.4 versus 9.8 days; neuromuscular blockade in a later analysis 66.0% versus 44.9% | No demonstrated bed-day saving; unadjusted medians must not be multiplied |
Wider Impact
Services can move from obligatory 33°C cooling towards continuous temperature monitoring and active fever prevention, potentially reducing cooling consumables, sedation, neuromuscular blockade and protocol workload. The trial does not justify abandoning temperature control, and benefits for poorly represented subgroups remain uncertain.
Implementation Considerations
Rewrite postarrest protocols around fever prevention at no more than 37.5–37.7°C for at least 72 hours, while preserving continuous core-temperature monitoring. Define rescue-device criteria and audit fever exposure, device use, arrhythmia, sedation and neuromuscular blockade. Train teams that protocolised normothermia does not mean permissive fever.
Limitations and Uncertainty
Open-label intervention and no formal NHS cost study; current device prices are local and often confidential. About 46% of normothermia patients still received device cooling. Potential benefit from 32–34°C in under-represented subgroups remains uncertain.
|
Trial and primary paperHOT-ICULower versus higher oxygenation targets in acute hypoxaemic respiratory failureNEJM Paper ↗ (opens in a new tab)Schjørring OL, Klitgaard TL, Perner A, et al. Lower or higher oxygenation targets for acute hypoxemic respiratory failure. N Engl J Med. 2021;384(14):1301-1311. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2032510.
Main findingA lower PaO₂ target did not reduce 90-day mortality.
UK involvementInternational + UK
CCR critiqueNot available
Read More: Why HOT-ICU Matters
Clinical, economic, funding and wider impact
Clinical Impact
6 more 90-day deaths per 1,000 with the lower target, compatible with 29 fewer to 42 more; organ-support use was similar.
Large neutral international RCT excluding the hypothesised five-percentage-point mortality benefit; smaller benefit or harm remains possible.
Economic and Resource Impact
The trial quantified neither oxygen consumption nor workforce, device, bed-day or cash savings; the intervention is a protocol target rather than a new device.
Not available: no trial economic evaluation and no quantified oxygen, ABG, workforce or bed-day resource difference. No defensible monetary saving can be calculated per 1,000. A local analysis would need oxygen consumption, ABG frequency, nursing time and clinical outcomes under each protocol. Not available: UK case volume, baseline target use and oxygen consumption were not reported and the clinical comparison was neutral. No UK-specific trial grant was identified.
- Within-trial cost — Not available: No economic evaluation or oxygen-consumption quantity was reported. Lower targets may reduce oxygen flow, but the trial did not quantify oxygen use, ABGs, bedside titration time or cash savings.
- Monitoring and workforce — Observed: Both arms required frequent arterial oxygen measurement and bedside titration. Protocol, observation-chart or electronic-order changes, education and audit are the principal implementation costs.
- Capacity — Observed: Organ-support use and hospital-discharge outcomes were similar. No credible cash-releasing or bed-capacity gain was demonstrated.
Funder Impact
- Public investment
- DKK 7,090,428 total of the cash amounts stated in the trial protocol — Innovation Fund Denmark, Obel Family Foundation, Danish Regions' Medicines Fund, Danish Society of Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine, and Intensive Care Symposium Hindsgavl, with institutional support; award 4108-00011A; Obel 25457; later publications also report regional awards EMN-2017-00901 and EMN-2019-01055.
- Funding scope
- Verified protocol total for stated cash awards; institutional and later support are not fully valued. Protocol-stated nominal awards: DKK 5,642,428 + 800,000 + 575,000 + 43,000 + 30,000 The award value is not assumed to equal the marginal cost of this comparison.
- What the investment delivered
- The 2,928-participant international trial ruled out the prespecified five-percentage-point mortality benefit of a lower oxygenation target and found no clear clinical or capacity advantage. It supplied a definitive answer to a ubiquitous ICU practice question, but no economic evaluation supports a monetary return or oxygen-cost saving.
Trial Results
| Evidence basis | Outcome | Trial result | Absolute effect per 1,000 eligible patients |
|---|
| Observed | 90-day mortality | 42.9% versus 42.4%; published adjusted risk difference +0.63 percentage points (95% CI -2.92 to +4.17) | 6 more deaths per 1,000, compatible with 29 fewer to 42 more | | Observed | Serious adverse events | 36.1% versus 38.1%; adjusted risk difference -1.6 percentage points (98.75% CI -6.0 to +2.8) | 16 fewer per 1,000, compatible with 60 fewer to 28 more; individual shock and ischaemic outcomes were similar | | Observed | Days alive without life support and after hospital discharge | Median percentage of days alive without life support to day 90 was 87.8% versus 84.4%; days alive after discharge 55.6% versus 50.0% | These are composite percentages, not raw ICU or organ-support days saved, and must not be monetised as bed-days | | Observed | Use of organ support | Mechanical ventilation, prone positioning, ECMO, circulatory support and RRT use were similar | No demonstrated capacity effect |
Wider Impact
HOT-ICU supports protocolised, monitored oxygen targets without claiming that the lower target improves survival. It strengthened an international critical care network and informs future oxygen trials; environmental or supply savings from using less oxygen should not be claimed without measured consumption and equivalent clinical outcomes in the intended population.
Implementation Considerations
Specify a safe saturation or PaO₂ operating range and explicit escalation rules. Maintain arterial-line and ABG quality assurance where a PaO₂ target is used. Audit hypoxaemic episodes and hyperoxaemia, and prevent target drift below the tested strategy.
Limitations and Uncertainty
Open-label and based on PaO₂ in patients with arterial lines and substantial oxygen requirements. The confidence interval permits modest benefit or harm despite excluding the prespecified five-point mortality benefit. Later trials in different populations should be considered in guideline updates.
|
Trial and primary paperRESTLower tidal volumes with ECCO2R in acute hypoxaemic respiratory failureJAMA Paper ↗ (opens in a new tab)McNamee JJ, Gillies MA, Barrett NA, et al. Effect of lower tidal volume ventilation facilitated by extracorporeal carbon dioxide removal vs standard care ventilation on 90-day mortality in patients with acute hypoxemic respiratory failure: the REST randomized clinical trial. JAMA. 2021;326(11):1013-1023. doi:10.1001/jama.2021.13374.
Main findingECCO2R-facilitated ultraprotective ventilation did not reduce mortality and caused more serious adverse events.
UK involvementUK only
Read More: Why REST Matters
Clinical, economic, funding and wider impact
Clinical Impact
No mortality benefit; 221 more serious adverse events and 45 more intracranial haemorrhages per 1,000, with 2.1 fewer mean ventilator-free days per patient.
UK multicentre RCT stopped early after 412 of 1,120 planned participants; mortality is imprecise, but clinical safety and economic directions were consistently unfavourable.
Economic and Resource Impact
ECCO₂R required £3,650 direct disposables and cost £7,668.76 more per patient at 12 months in 2018/19 prices; standard care dominated.
Published 2018/19 analysis found £7,668.76 higher 12-month cost per patient and no QALY gain; standard ventilation dominated. Trial devices and consumables were supplied without charge, so trial procurement expenditure does not represent NHS deployment cost. Calculated from the published analysis: avoiding ECCO₂R avoids £3.65m direct disposables and has a central 12-month health-service saving of £7.67m per 1,000, with trial CI about £0.16m–£15.18m before inflation. It may also avoid about 221 serious adverse events and 45 intracranial haemorrhages. Cash release depends on contracts and sunk capital. Not available: only 6% of screened patients entered the trial. Use reproducible trial eligibility, ICNARC case-mix data, current uptake and procurement records rather than national ARDS counts. NIHR HTA award 13/143/02 funded the study, but a reliable award amount was not retrieved.
- Direct consumables — Published economic analysis: At 2018/19 prices, the cartridge cost £3,000 and catheter £650: £3,650 direct disposable cost per treated patient. Capital and support costs were not included.
- Twelve-month cost and QALY — Published economic analysis: ECCO₂R cost £7,668.76 more per patient (95% CI £159.75 to £15,177.77), with QALY difference -0.01 (95% CI -0.06 to +0.05). Imputed base case was +£7,900 and -0.008 QALY; standard ventilation dominated and cost-effectiveness probability was 0% at £0–£50,000/QALY.
- Equipment and workforce — Observed: Requires an ECCO₂R console, cartridge and circuit, large-bore vascular catheter, systemic anticoagulation, insertion skills, priming and continuous specialist nursing and medical oversight, with bleeding, thrombosis, access and device-failure workload.
Funder Impact
- Public investment
- £1,668,029.80 — National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment programme; award 13/143/02.
- Funding scope
- Verified trial-specific public award. Current award total displayed in the NIHR Funding and Awards database; nominal award basis The award value is not assumed to equal the marginal cost of this comparison.
- What the investment delivered
- REST recruited 412 participants before early stopping and showed no mortality benefit, fewer ventilator-free days and substantially more serious adverse events with extracorporeal carbon dioxide removal. Its embedded analysis found £7,668.76 higher 12-month cost per patient in 2018/19 prices; avoiding 1,000 otherwise-planned uses would therefore avoid about £7.67 million on the central estimate, but that is an arithmetic scenario rather than a realised grant ROI.
Trial Results
| Evidence basis | Outcome | Trial result | Absolute effect per 1,000 eligible patients |
|---|
| Observed | 90-day mortality | 41.5% versus 39.5%; risk difference +2.0 percentage points (95% CI -7.6 to +11.5) | 20 more deaths per 1,000 with ECCO₂R, compatible with 76 fewer to 115 more; expressed as deimplementation, standard care has a point estimate of 20 fewer | | Observed | Ventilator-free days to day 28 | Mean 7.1 versus 9.2 days; mean difference -2.1 days (95% CI -3.8 to -0.3) | This death-composite endpoint must not automatically be treated as 2,100 raw ventilator or ICU bed-days | | Observed | Serious adverse events | 62/202 (31%) versus 18/210 (9%) | Calculated unadjusted effect: 221 more per 1,000 (Newcombe 95% CI about 146 to 295 more) | | Observed | Intracranial haemorrhage | 9/202 versus 0/210; device-related serious adverse events occurred in 21 patients | Calculated: 45 more intracranial haemorrhages per 1,000 (Newcombe interval about 17 to 83 more) | | Observed | ICU and hospital stay | Median ICU stay 14 versus 13 days and hospital stay 22 versus 18 days; differences were not significant | No demonstrated raw bed-day saving |
Wider Impact
The trial provides unusually strong evidence for device deimplementation and procurement governance: it identifies avoidable cartridge, catheter, anticoagulation, cannulation and specialist-monitoring burden as well as bleeding risk. It also shows why high-risk critical care devices need adequately powered comparative trials before routine adoption.
Implementation Considerations
Remove the routine indication from local protocols and restrict ECCO₂R to research ethics-approved trials. Stop disposable procurement or minimum-volume commitments where possible and account separately for sunk capital. Retrain cannulation and anticoagulation teams as needed, retain research governance, and audit residual off-trial use and complications.
Limitations and Uncertainty
Trial stopped early and recruited only 412 of 1,120 planned participants; only 6% of screened patients enrolled. Many centres were initially device-naïve; current devices and tender prices may differ. Economic data are in 2018/19 prices and used imputation, but these limitations do not provide evidence of clinical benefit.
|
Trial and primary paperREMAP-CAP IL-6IL-6 receptor antagonists in critically ill COVID-19NEJM Paper ↗ (opens in a new tab)REMAP-CAP Investigators. Interleukin-6 receptor antagonists in critically ill patients with Covid-19. N Engl J Med. 2021;384(16):1491-1502. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2100433.
Main findingIL-6 receptor antagonists improved organ support–free days and survival.
UK involvementInternational + UK
CCR critiqueNot available
Read More: Why REMAP-CAP IL-6 Matters
Clinical, economic, funding and wider impact
Clinical Impact
Observed pooled effect: 84 fewer in-hospital deaths per 1,000; organ-support-free survival and discharge also favoured treatment.
Compelling international adaptive-platform evidence for 2020 severe COVID-19; current absolute effect is uncertain as immunity, variants and co-treatments have changed.
Economic and Resource Impact
Expected tocilizumab list-price acquisition is £991–£1,321 per treated patient with repeat dosing; NICE judged it cost-effective at the confidential NHS price.
NICE judged tocilizumab cost-effective at its confidential NHS price; mean-efficacy ICER was below £20,000/QALY. Platform funding cannot be attributed cleanly to this domain. Calculated illustration: £0.99m–£1.32m drug-only list-price acquisition for 1,000 treated patients with the observed repeat-dose rate, before administration, alongside an observed point estimate of 84 fewer in-hospital deaths. Raw mean bed-days suitable for cost multiplication were not published. Not available for current practice. Use contemporary admissions, steroid use, oxygen or organ-support status, uptake, baseline mortality and negotiated price; early-pandemic case volumes and effects are not valid 2026 denominators.
- Drug acquisition — Calculated: Tocilizumab 8 mg/kg to a maximum 800 mg is infused over one hour; 29% received a second dose at 12–24 hours. Published list prices were £768 for 600 mg and £1,024 for 800 mg; with repeat dosing, expected drug-only acquisition is £991–£1,321 per treated patient before confidential discounts and wastage.
- Cost-effectiveness — Published economic analysis: NICE found the mean-efficacy ICER below £20,000/QALY at the confidential commercial price and judged tocilizumab a cost-effective NHS use. NICE considered administration estimates of £117–£410; actual ICERs remain confidential.
- Workforce and infrastructure — Observed: Requires rapid eligibility and contraindication screening, pharmacy preparation, a one-hour infusion with chair or bed and pump capacity, post-dose monitoring, corticosteroid coordination, stock resilience and duplicate-dose prevention.
Funder Impact
- Public investment
- £1,237,495 for the UK pandemic expansion; wider international platform and in-kind support not aggregated — NIHR/DHSC support for UK REMAP-CAP pandemic expansion, alongside EU PREPARE/RECOVER, Australian NHMRC and other international platform funding; some study drug was supplied in kind; funding reference/scope UK award reference not publicly stated; PREPARE 602525; RECOVER 101003589; NHMRC APP1101719 and APP1116530.
- Funding scope
- Verified shared UK platform funding; not IL-6-domain-specific and not the full international comparison cost. Nominal UK pandemic-expansion funding reported to the UK COVID-19 Inquiry; whole-platform support The award value is not assumed to equal the marginal cost of this comparison.
- What the investment delivered
- The published comparison included 803 critically ill patients and rapidly identified a survival and organ-support benefit from IL-6 receptor antagonists. UK expansion brought REMAP-CAP to roughly 142 NHS hospitals and supported several domains, so neither the £1,237,495 nor the wider international grants can be allocated to this comparison alone.
Trial Results
| Evidence basis | Outcome | Trial result | Absolute effect per 1,000 eligible patients |
|---|
| Observed | In-hospital mortality: pooled IL-6 receptor antagonists | 108/395 (27.3%) versus 142/397 (35.8%) | Calculated unadjusted effect: 84 fewer deaths per 1,000 (Newcombe 95% CI about 19 to 148 fewer) | | Observed | In-hospital mortality and survival: tocilizumab and sarilumab | Tocilizumab alone 98/350 (28.0%); adjusted survival OR 1.64 (95% CrI 1.14 to 2.35), sarilumab OR 2.01 (1.18 to 4.71), pooled 90-day survival HR 1.61 (1.25 to 2.08) | Tocilizumab-only unadjusted point estimate: 78 fewer in-hospital deaths per 1,000 versus control | | Observed | Organ-support-free days to day 21 | Median 10 (IQR -1 to 16) tocilizumab, 11 (0 to 16) sarilumab and 0 (-1 to 15) control; adjusted cumulative ORs 1.64 and 1.76 | Death is coded -1, so the 10-day median separation is not ten ICU bed-days saved per treated patient; among survivors medians were 14, 15 and 13 days | | Observed | Serious adverse events | Nine in the tocilizumab group, none with sarilumab and 11 in control | No excess serious-adverse-event signal; screening and monitoring remain necessary |
Wider Impact
The result enabled rapid ICU treatment adoption and demonstrated the emergency value of an adaptive platform already embedded in clinical services. Delivery depends on timely phenotype recognition, infusion and pharmacy capacity, infection screening and resilient biologic supply; high acquisition cost and uneven access create equity considerations.
Implementation Considerations
Identify eligible organ-supported patients rapidly and prescribe within the early treatment window alongside corticosteroids. Maintain pharmacy stock, consultant or MDT authorisation, infection, liver and neutrophil screening, and infusion capability. Prevent duplicate IL-6 dosing across transfers and audit outcomes by variant and immunity era.
Limitations and Uncertainty
Open-label adaptive design and a small sarilumab sample. Changing variants, vaccination, baseline risk and background care make the current absolute benefit uncertain. The actual NHS price is confidential and NICE notes uncertainty in applying early-pandemic mortality and discharge effects to endemic practice.
|
Trial and primary paperREMAP-CAP anticoagulationTherapeutic heparin anticoagulation in critically ill COVID-19NEJM Paper ↗ (opens in a new tab)REMAP-CAP, ACTIV-4a, and ATTACC Investigators. Therapeutic anticoagulation with heparin in critically ill patients with Covid-19. N Engl J Med. 2021;385(9):777-789. doi:10.1056/NEJMoa2103417.
Main findingTherapeutic anticoagulation did not improve organ support–free days and increased major bleeding.
UK involvementInternational + UK
CCR critiqueNot available
Read More: Why REMAP-CAP anticoagulation Matters
Clinical, economic, funding and wider impact
Clinical Impact
Adjusted point estimate of 41 fewer survivors and observed 14 more major bleeds per 1,000 with therapeutic dosing; no organ-support benefit.
Large international multiplatform adaptive RCT stopped for futility, with 99.9% posterior probability of futility and 95.0% probability of inferiority for the primary outcome.
Economic and Resource Impact
Deimplementation avoids higher-dose drug, additional injections or infusion, monitoring and bleeding-management workload; no trial economic analysis quantified cash savings.
Not available as a formal economic evaluation. The trial established futility and likely inferiority of therapeutic dosing in critically ill COVID-19 rather than a cash-saving estimate. Avoidance removes incremental heparin, injection or infusion, laboratory and dose-adjustment costs and may avoid 14 major bleeds per 1,000 on the point estimate. Drug savings depend on weight, renal function, duration, agent and hospital tender price; the tariff examples add about £8.00–£14.56 per day in 70–100 kg illustrations. Not available because current critical care COVID-19 volume and baseline therapeutic-dose uptake differ substantially from 2020–21. Platform funding is spread across three international trials and cannot be attributed cleanly to this comparison.
- Illustrative LMWH drug cost — Calculated: Using the NHS Drug Tariff December 2024 rather than hospital tender prices, enoxaparin 40 mg ×10 cost £30.27, 80 mg ×10 £55.13 and 100 mg ×10 £87.93. For a 70-kg illustration, 80 mg twice daily versus 40 mg once daily adds about £8.00/day drug-only; for 100 kg it adds about £14.56/day.
- Administration and monitoring — Observed: Therapeutic LMWH uses higher and often twice-daily weight-based dosing. UFH needs an infusion pump, repeated APTT or anti-Xa sampling and adjustment. Both add pharmacy and nursing work, renal and weight adjustment, platelet surveillance and bleeding-management exposure.
- Bed-day and cash effect — Not available: No trial economic analysis quantified savings and there was no demonstrated survival or organ-support benefit. Do not monetise the three-day composite median as raw ICU bed-days.
Funder Impact
- Public investment
- £1,237,495 for UK REMAP-CAP pandemic expansion; other platform awards and total comparison cost not aggregated — REMAP-CAP, ACTIV-4a and ATTACC platform funders, including UK NIHR/DHSC, EU PREPARE/RECOVER, US NHLBI/NIH, Canadian and Australasian agencies; award UK REMAP-CAP reference not publicly stated; PREPARE 602525; RECOVER 101003589; ACTIV-4a OTA-20-011 and 1OT2HL156812-01; multiple ATTACC awards.
- Funding scope
- Verified partial/shared funding only; no defensible marginal comparison budget or full multiplatform total is publicly available. Nominal shared platform awards; the trial was a harmonised three-platform comparison The award value is not assumed to equal the marginal cost of this comparison.
- What the investment delivered
- The multiplatform trial provided primary-outcome data for 1,098 critically ill patients and stopped for futility, showing that routine therapeutic-dose heparin did not improve survival or organ-support-free days in this group. That result prevents low-value escalation and its bleeding and monitoring burden, but it cannot be assigned a monetary ROI from any one platform's grant.
Trial Results
| Evidence basis | Outcome | Trial result | Absolute effect per 1,000 eligible patients |
|---|
| Observed | Survival to hospital discharge | 62.7% versus 64.5%; median adjusted risk difference -4.1 percentage points (95% CrI -10.7 to +2.4) | 41 fewer survivors per 1,000 with therapeutic dosing, compatible with 107 fewer to 24 more | | Observed | Organ-support-free days to day 21 | Median 1 (IQR -1 to 16) versus 4 (-1 to 16); adjusted proportional OR 0.83 (95% CrI 0.67 to 1.03) | Because death is coded -1, the three-day median separation cannot be booked as 3,000 ICU days saved | | Observed | Major thrombotic events | 6.4% versus 10.4%; major thrombosis or death 40.1% versus 41.1% | 40 fewer major thrombotic events per 1,000, but no advantage in the death-inclusive composite | | Observed | Major bleeding | 3.8% versus 2.3% | 14 more major bleeds per 1,000; calculated unadjusted Newcombe 95% CI approximately 6 fewer to 36 more |
Wider Impact
The work enabled severity-specific anticoagulation guidance and reduced injections, dose checks, laboratory review and bleeding exposure from inappropriate full-dose treatment. It also proved that independent adaptive platforms could prospectively harmonise methods and data during a pandemic; the critical care result must remain distinct from the separate benefit observed in non-critically ill patients.
Implementation Considerations
Separate non-critical ward and organ-supported cohorts clearly in prescribing guidance and electronic orders. Default organ-supported patients to standard thromboprophylaxis and require a documented independent indication for therapeutic dosing. Perform medication review at ICU escalation, use renal and weight protocols, and audit bleeding and residual off-indication treatment.
Limitations and Uncertainty
Open-label; usual-care prophylaxis varied and sometimes included intermediate dosing. Early-pandemic population and exclusion of patients at high bleeding risk. Independent indications for therapeutic anticoagulation are unaffected, and the result differs from evidence in non-critically ill patients.
|
Trial and primary paperSANDWICHSedation and ventilator liberation in paediatric ICUsJAMA Paper ↗ (opens in a new tab)Blackwood B, Tume LN, Morris KP, et al. Effect of a sedation and ventilator liberation protocol vs usual care on duration of invasive mechanical ventilation in pediatric intensive care units: a randomized clinical trial. JAMA. 2021;326(5):401-410. doi:10.1001/jama.2021.10296.
Main findingThe protocol shortened invasive ventilation by an adjusted median of about six hours in children ventilated for more than 24 hours.
UK involvementUK only
CCR critiqueNot available
Read More: Why SANDWICH Matters
Clinical, economic, funding and wider impact
Clinical Impact
Extubation occurred 6.1 hours earlier, but PICU stay did not fall and post-extubation NIV increased by 94 uses per 1,000.
Large UK stepped-wedge cluster RCT with embedded economics; the statistically significant extubation effect was small and the active bundle component cannot be identified.
Economic and Resource Impact
Delivery cost £34.73 and total 28-day cost £929.05 more per patient in 2018/19 prices; control dominated and no PICU capacity release was shown.
Published 2018/19 analysis: £34.73 direct delivery cost and £929.05 higher total 28-day cost per patient, with wide uncertainty; control dominated. Calculated: £34,730 direct implementation cost plus a central £929,050 total-cost increase per 1,000, with uncertainty from £516,540 saving to £2.375m extra, and 94 more post-extubation NIV uses. Avoiding a national mandate avoids training cost and the central cost increase, but the latter is not a certain cash saving because its CI crosses zero. Not decision-grade. Although the protocol cited more than 20,000 UK PICU admissions annually and about 65% receiving invasive ventilation, trial eligibility and current uptake differ; do not multiply £929 across all 13,000 without a contemporary PICANet denominator.
- Bundle delivery — Published economic analysis: At 2018/19 prices, 1,865 staff at 17 sites were trained over eight weeks. Total delivery cost was £305,874 or £34.73 per patient (sensitivity £66.38), including a 17-month implementation manager or educator, four-hour champion training, two-hour e-learning, LearnPro set-up and maintenance (£11,850), materials and protected multidisciplinary time.
- Total 28-day cost and complications — Published economic analysis: Cost was £929.05 higher per patient (95% CI -£516.54 to +£2,374.64), with 0.10 more respiratory complications (95% CI 0.03 to 0.16). Control dominated and cost-effectiveness probability never exceeded 12% over tested willingness-to-pay values.
- Capacity and workforce — Observed: The bundle needs educator ownership, local champions, sedation scoring and targets, daily readiness screens, spontaneous-breathing tests, multidisciplinary ward-round goals and fidelity audit. PICU length of stay did not fall, while high-dependency advanced days and post-extubation NIV increased.
Funder Impact
- Public investment
- £1,885,662.80 — National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment programme; award 15/104/01.
- Funding scope
- Verified trial-specific public award. Current award total displayed in the NIHR Funding and Awards database; nominal award basis The award value is not assumed to equal the marginal cost of this comparison.
- What the investment delivered
- Across 18 UK paediatric ICUs, SANDWICH evaluated 10,495 admissions and produced a reusable multidisciplinary implementation programme. The intervention shortened ventilation by a modest 6.1 hours in the prolonged-ventilation cohort but did not reduce paediatric ICU stay; the economic analysis had a central additional cost of £929.05 per patient, so the main return is a robust decision against assuming that national roll-out would release cash or beds.
Trial Results
| Evidence basis | Outcome | Trial result | Absolute effect per 1,000 eligible patients |
|---|
| Observed | Time to first successful extubation | 64.8 versus 66.2 hours; adjusted median difference -6.1 hours (reported IQR -8.2 to -5.3), adjusted HR 1.11 (95% CI 1.02 to 1.20) | Not naturally expressible per 1,000 and did not translate into a shorter PICU stay | | Observed | Successful and unplanned extubation | Adjusted successful-extubation difference +0.95 percentage points (95% CI -0.07 to +1.97); unplanned-extubation difference +0.98 points (-0.32 to +2.27), adjusted RR 1.62 (1.05 to 2.51) | 10 more successful extubations (1 fewer to 20 more) and 10 more unplanned extubations (3 fewer to 23 more) per 1,000 | | Observed | Post-extubation non-invasive ventilation | Adjusted risk difference +9.42 percentage points (95% CI +4.30 to +14.54); reintubation did not differ | 94 more uses of post-extubation NIV per 1,000 (43 to 145 more) | | Observed | PICU and hospital stay | PICU stay median 5.0 days in both groups; hospital discharge slower, adjusted HR 0.89 (95% CI 0.81 to 0.97), with medians 9.6 versus 9.1 days | No PICU bed-capacity saving; the 6.1-hour extubation result must not be converted into aggregate bed-days |
Wider Impact
The study developed cross-disciplinary training, audit and quality-improvement infrastructure spanning nursing, medical and allied-health teams. It supports more realistic implementation research by separating process improvement from patient-level and service-level benefit, and it identifies where local sedation and weaning pathways need further refinement rather than automatic national adoption.
Implementation Considerations
Do not mandate the full bundle as a national cost-saving intervention. If selected locally, provide champions and educator ownership, sedation assessment and targeting, daily readiness review, spontaneous-breathing testing and multidisciplinary goals. Use stop rules and prospective audit for unplanned extubation, post-extubation NIV, reintubation, length of stay, cost and fidelity.
Limitations and Uncertainty
Unblinded stepped-wedge design with secular changes, and the active component cannot be disentangled. Increased NIV and unplanned extubation partly drove the economic outcome; hospital-cost CI crosses zero. Costs are 2018/19 and a narrower population or modified bundle could perform differently.
|